Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ By Sarah J. Mass

a court of thorns and roses cover

A Court of Thorns and Roses
By Sarah J. Mass
Book #1 in the Court of Thorns and Roses series

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Publish Date: May 2015
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#1)
Pages: 416
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Book Type: Fiction
Purchase Locations: Book Depository Amazon Audible Booktopia

Synopsis: 
Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …
Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

My Thoughts:
When I started Reading ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
I was enjoying the story well enough as we follow Feyre through a particularly harsh winter where she needs to support her family by finding them food. I had no idea of the ride I was about to be taken on into the world of Faerie I had never experienced before.
To be fair, I haven’t read any Faerie based books before (I know I can’t believe it either) so I didn’t really know what to expect.
I was BLOWN AWAY! The story was building this world that was so amazing I could not put it down. I loved learning about the Courts and how this world worked. We met some amazingly deep and complex characters on the way and the climax of the story had me reading far past when I should of been sleeping!
I had to know what happened next. Books that grab you like that are so incredible to me and I am desperate to continue the story.
I would highly recommend this story!

My Rating:
imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Challenge completed: 
Gingermom read’s February mini Challenge
feb mini challenge

Author: The Nico Tribe

30. Melbourne. Love to read and go on adventures. First time mum Love my fur baby! Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/74444706-kate

8 thoughts on “Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ By Sarah J. Mass”

    1. I was so unsure to start it in case I didn’t like it as much as so many people do. I’m so glad I did though! I’ve just finished the second one and It is so incredible! I’m hoping the 3rd one keeps the series going on this high note!

      Like

  1. Great review! We loved the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, a lot and think it’s even better than the first! So we hope you enjoy it too 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment