Review: ‘In an Absent Dream’ By Seanan McGuire

‘In an Absent Dream’

By Seanan McGuire

Book #4 in the Wayward Children Series

Publisher: Tor
Date: 2019
Pages: 203
Fiction/Non-Fiction: Fiction
Genre:  Fantasy
Days to Read:
Purchase Locations:  Amazon and Kindle Audible Book Depository Booktopia Dymocks QBD

This fourth entry and prequel tells the story of Lundy, a very serious young girl who would rather study and dream than become a respectable housewife and live up to the expectations of the world around her. As well she should.

When she finds a doorway to a world founded on logic and reason, riddles and lies, she thinks she’s found her paradise. Alas, everything costs at the goblin market, and when her time there is drawing to a close, she makes the kind of bargain that never plays out well.

I loved reading about Lundy’s experience! It was so exciting to jump completely into a world other than this one and to see what makes Lundy uniquely her. After meeting her in the previous Wayward Children books I was excited to get into her back story.

The Goblin Market is a world that I understand. I loved the detail that is in how it works and the rules of Fair Value – I tried explaining it to George and honestly he didn’t get it. I feel like I would go to a world like that.

It was interesting how this world and this door asks children to be ‘sure’ of their decision, as well as letting children return and leave until they reach a certain age. Its the first world I’ve read in this series that lets someone do that. A very interesting concept.

As with all of the Wayward Children books we really get to explore a different type of world. This world of logic is so fantastical I love it.

Plot: 8/10
Ease of reading: 10/10
Character Development: 8/10
World Building: 8/10
Quality of Writing: 9/10
Overall Rating:  5/5

Review: ‘Down Among the Sticks and Bones’ By Seanan McGuire


Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Seanan McGuire
Book #2 in the Wayward Children Series

Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publish Date: June 2017
Pages: 187
Series: Wayward Children Series (Book #2)
Fiction/Non-Fiction:  Fiction
Genre: Young adult Fantasy
Purchase Locations: Book Depository
 Amazon & Kindle Audible QBD Dymocks Booktopia


Twin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children.
This is the story of what happened first…
Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a princess. If her mother was sometimes a little strict, it’s because crafting the perfect daughter takes discipline.
Jillian was her father’s perfect daughter—adventurous, thrill-seeking, and a bit of a tom-boy. He really would have preferred a son, but you work with what you’ve got.
They were five when they learned that grown-ups can’t be trusted.
They were twelve when they walked down the impossible staircase and discovered that the pretence of love can never be enough to prepare you a life filled with magic in a land filled with mad scientists and death and choices.

My Thoughts

I started ‘Down among the Sticks and Bones‘ immediately after completing ‘Every Heart a Doorway’. I knew the series wasn’t like most and didn’t continue on with the same story but instead looked at different characters and told their individual stories. I loved this. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but when I finished ‘Every Heart a Doorway‘ I just wanted more information about these worlds the different doorways lead to and how and why each character was drawn to their respective door and the world it led too.

In this way ‘Down Among the Sticks and Bones‘ did not disappoint. We follow the lives of Jack and Jill, characters we meet in ‘Every Heart a Doorway‘ and discover more to their story. Following them of their journey of discovering themselves, their doors and how they ended up at Miss West’s School.

There was so much detail and amazing description that throughout the story I was left feeling very strong and intense emotions, along side the characters as they experienced them, from the beginning to the very end. The development of the characters was incredible. I loved how much you are able to see them grow into the people they are during the story. It was also great to see how they trusted different people.

The world building was really good. There weren’t any holes in ‘The Moors’ where the two girls end up. I found it easy to picture the moors as girls arrived and experienced them.

I was so sad when the story finished I wanted more!

My Rating

Plot: 8/10
Ease of reading: 9/10
Character Development: 8/10
World Building: 9/10
Quality of Writing: 8/10
Stars:  5/5

Chat with me footer

Have you read ‘Down Among the Sticks and Bones’? Are there any books you’ve read lately that you absolutely loved?

Review: ‘Beneath the Sugar Sky’ By Seanan McGuire


‘Beneath the Sugar Sky’
By Seanan McGuire
Book #3 in the Wayward Children Series 

Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates Books
Publish Date: January 2018
Pages: 174
Series: Wayward Children Series (Book #3)
Fiction/Non-Fiction: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Purchase Locations: Amazon & Kindle Audible Book Depository Booktopia QBD


Beneath the Sugar Sky returns to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the “real” world.
Sumi died years before her prophesied daughter Rini could be born. Rini was born anyway, and now she’s trying to bring her mother back from a world without magic.

My Thoughts

This is a world that I am just itching to learn more and more about. Through the introduction of the characters and the concept of a school for children who have travel to different worlds – the example we are giving being like Alice falling down her rabbit hole –  and returned to our world where they can never quiet be themselves.

To discovering more about one of these worlds on ‘Down Among the Sticks and Bones’ where we follow characters from book one into their story and how they came to be at Miss West’s school, following every step of their adventure.

‘Beneath the Sugar Sky’ is the newest instalment in this series and took us on another adventure that starts at Miss West’s school. Although it is different in that this follows an adventure that takes the students through multiple different worlds, meeting old and new characters along the way.

I thoroughly enjoyed that multiple students went on the adventure and that we were able to gain more detail and understanding about move than one world. Including the Hall of the Dead and Confection. Two polar opposite worlds. It enriched the books I’d just finished in the series so much more by just adding these details of the worlds characters I loved had travels to and from.

Overall, ‘Beneath the Sugar Sky’ was a fantastic third instalment in the Wayward Children Series. Continuing the story on if amazing detail that has me longing for the fourth instalment.

My Rating

Plot: 8.5/10
Ease of reading: 9/10
Character Development: 7.5/10
World Building: 9/10
Quality of Writing: 7.5/10
Stars:  5/5

Chat with me footer

Is anyone else hanging out for the next instalment in the Wayward Children Series? Are there any good series that can fill my reading void?!